my favorite thing out of SDCC this year was the cosplay

So all of the news I’ve seen so far from San Diego Comic Con seems to be about things I’ve already decided not to care about: Wonder Woman’s costume in that movie I have no interest in seeing, sneak peeks of that Flash TV show I have no intention of watching, new characters announced for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., which I tapped out on early. I realize this intro makes me sound like a curmudgeon—I’m not, really, I just know what I like and I ignore what I don’t. The comics-verse is easier to stomach that way.

Anyway, I’ve mostly spent the last couple of days admiring everyone’s cosplay and ignoring the “news” entirely. I love cosplayers. I love that there are people who love these characters so much that they take the time to do this. Below are some of my faves from the last few days. (You can click each image for the source, unless I’ve messed something up horribly.)

First though, as a side note, it was extremely difficult to find pictures of black cosplayers. I know they were there, I’ve heard about some cool ones and I’ve seen some in the background of other pictures. I know they will start appearing on the internet as everyone gets home from the con (cosplayingwhileblack has started to post some), but the fact that I trawled through a dozen mainstream media “Best 5 billion cosplays of SDCC 2014” lists and found nothing is really disheartening. Come on, SDCC photogs. You’re better than this. Edit: Found some! Scroll to the end of the post for a few more POC cosplay images and links.

On to the pictures.

DSC_9985_verge_super_wide

Thor is all about the attitude. Is she worthy? You better believe it.

The smallest Rocket Raccoon.

The smallest Rocket Raccoon.

Adrianne Curry always brings it.

Adrianne Curry always brings it, this time as the original Silk Spectre.

tumblr_n9bsrdN5Y31slqwh3o2_1280

Love the story behind this Uhura, click on the image to go to the tumblr post.

Crow T. Robot.

You’ve never looked better, Crow T. Robot.

The Captains will have none of your nonsense, please.

The Captains will have none of your nonsense, please.

Russell and the house from Up. It takes some dedication to cosplay as a HOUSE.

Russell and the house from Up. It takes some dedication to cosplay as a HOUSE.

Either an awesome dress or some serious groping. #infinitygauntlet

Either an awesome dress or some serious groping. #infinitygauntlet

GalactusSurfer-1

Devourer of Worlds + Herald. One of them wears a lot of clothes and one of them does not.

Possibly the most perfect Catwoman cosplay ever. (Adrianne Curry again.)

Possibly the most perfect Catwoman cosplay ever. (Adrianne Curry again.)

If you want more, Comics Alliance did a good round-up of some cosplayers, here’s Parts One, Two, and Three. I also recommend cosplayingwhileblack (which I mentioned above) and Adorable BBs in Cosplay.

EDITED TO ADD (mid-afternoon July 28th)

The woman who runs the kids cosplay tumblr above directed me towards a few more of her images, so here are a few more awesome people of color cosplaying at SDCC.

tumblr_n98qv6xC721r9qbgqo1_500

The new Ms. Marvel! This girl is rockin’ it OUT.

tumblr_n98qv6xC721r9qbgqo3_1280

Loving this Static Shock.

tumblr_n9cfkjfV111r9qbgqo1_1280

This Vanellope from Wreck-It Ralph took more dedication than I have ever had about ANYTHING. Majorly impressive.

2 thoughts on “my favorite thing out of SDCC this year was the cosplay

  1. I seriously just want to high five every single one of those people. My god, those are amazing costumes. And Vanellope’s car! Holy crap!

    I also really enjoy how casually spot-on the Gwendolyn (from Saga) cosplay is. She’s the crouching woman in the picture with little Rocket up there.

    All of them, really. All are amazing. But I haven’t seen a Saga cosplay before, so that makes me extra happy, haha. Thanks for curating this (and pointing me toward the “Adorable BBs” site).

    • I’m basically the only person I know who hasn’t read Saga haha, I had no idea who that was.

      I love cosplayers. I might have to take a camera to BCC and collect my own photos. (I don’t know if I’m brave enough to accost people for photos, though.)

Leave a Reply

